Karma Yoga


This weekend I was helping out at the Denver Yoga Festival. On Thursday I wanted to take a class but when I heard that over 13 of the volunteers who were assigned to show up just bailed on the volunteer coordinator, I decided to opt out of the class and offer up my services to her instead. Incredibly grateful she utilized my services and kept thanking me and hugging me. I was just being me.

A few other volunteers who DID show up were talking to me and one of them said “you may not be doing the other yoga classes you wanted to do but you are doing Karma Yoga instead and that has more weight!”

I actually hadn’t ever heard this phrase.

Karma Yoga

They explained it as “Yoga in service to others that come back around as good”

Sounded intriguing.

Sunday when I had time and things settled down I looked it up and found this article from Ram Dass on What is Karma Yoga.

What is Karma Yoga?

Karma Yoga really is

you serve others as a way of serving God

So in essence= Service

I like this phrase. Karma yoga. Here all along I have been doing yoga and didn’t event know it. I am a service oriented person. Help out when and when I can.

For Denver Yoga Fest, I knew I was only going to be there for Thursday and Friday as we had other plans for the Tiny House Jamboree Saturday and Sunday so I wanted to volunteer and be of service as much as I could. Plus, I knew I had experience in events and volunteering that others didn’t and so to the producers and the coordinators I tried to make myself as available to them as I could. I didn’t do it for fame or acclaim or for any other reason that I  merely wanted to help out. I like helping out. I guess I like the feeling of good karma yoga.

There are many ways to be a Yogi I am learning and this way was a whole new way of thinking of thinking about yoga of the mind and body as one. giving of ones self in acts of service.

If you think you can’t do yoga, think again.

There is always Karma Yoga!

Until next time,

Namaste,

Trisha Trixie

One thought on “Karma Yoga

Leave a Reply

